EUROPEAN EXTERNAL ACTION SERVICE



Deputy Secretary General - CSDP and Crisis response

29 OCT. 2019

Brussels, EEAS/CPCC/MT/SH/6123009

To All Representatives to the PSC

Dear Colleagues,

Call for applications for the position of Head of Mission of EUMM Georgia

On 3 December 2018, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2018/1884, extending the mandate of EUMM Georgia until 14 December 2020. On 19 December 2017, the PSC adopted Decision EUMM Georgia/1/2017 appointing Mr Eric Hoegg from Denmark as Head of Mission EUMM Georgia.

By letter from 17 September 2019, Mr Hoegg has informed that he will resign from his position due to other professional assignments. He will leave his post on 31 December 2019. I would like to thank Mr Hoegg for his excellent work as Head of Mission of the only international presence permanently on the ground. With his outstanding leadership, his significant diplomatic experience, and his profound understanding of the region and its sensitivities, he has ensured the Mission's successful mandate delivery in a demanding and complex environment.

I would therefore like to invite Member States to nominate candidates for the position of Head of Mission EUMM Georgia, in line with the qualities, skills and attributes indicated in the Head of Mission profile, annexed to this letter. Candidates should be available to take up the position with effect from 1 January 2020. I strongly recommend Member States to propose female candidates.

On the basis of the applications received, a selection board, which I will chair, will shortlist and interview the candidates, evaluating their professional merits, diplomatic experience, knowledge and management skills. Following the interview process, the High Representative will propose a candidate to the Political and Security Committee.

I would be grateful if applications, including CVs of the proposed candidates, could be sent to the Civilian Operations Commander's office (CPCC-SECRETARIAT-HOM@eeas.europa.eu) by 20 November 2019.

ors sincerely,

Pedy SERRANO

cc: Vincenzo Coppola (CPCC)